The Foundation for Psychocultural Research 2001 Inaugural Symposium for New Research on Culture-Brain Interactions

June 28 - July 1, 2001 Ojai Valley Inn & Spa

The FPR held its first annual workshop on June 28 - July 1, 2001 in Ojai, California. The purpose of the workshop was to facilitate the meeting of distinguished scholars and professionals from various academic fields such as Anthropology, Psychology, Psychiatry, Neurosciences, and the Public Health, who are interested in interdisciplinary collaboration and have been pursuing research at the interface of the social and brain sciences.

Thirty-two participants were invited to the symposium in Ojai and exchanged ideas on new research on culture-brain interactions. The three days meeting began with an introductory plenary session, as the participants introduced their own research and interdisciplinary interests. The following breakout sessions discussed six topics as found in the following program, each followed by a plenary session. The symposium ended with a plenary session, addressing emerging issues and potential directions for new interdisciplinary research on interactions between culture and the brain.

Breakout Sessions:

  • Culture and Development
    Moderator: Steve Lopez, Ph.D.
  • Methodological Issues in Cultural/Neuroscience Integration
    Moderator: Beate Ritz, M.D., Ph.D.
  • Culture, Trauma and Neurobiology/Topical 3 yr Focus of The FPR
    Moderator: Marvin Karno, M.D.
  • Cultural Perspectives on Psychiatric Theory and Practice.
    Moderator: Marjorie Kagawa-Singer, Ph.D., M.N., R.N.
  • Cognition, Emotion, Culture and the Brain.
    Moderator: Douglas Hollan, Ph.D.
  • Philosophical Issues Involved in Integrating Cultural and Neuroscientific Levels of Analysis
    Moderator: Carole Browner, Ph.D., M.P.H.

Participants List

Mark Barad, M.D., Ph.D.
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Science, UCLA;
Brain Research Institute, UCLA.
Mbarad@mednet.ucla.edu

Joel T. Braslow, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Departments of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences and History, UCLA;
Director, UCLA Neuroscience History Archive;
Jbraslow@ucla.edu

Carole H. Browner, M.P.H., Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences and in the Department of Anthropology, UCLA;
Member of the FPR Advisory Board.
Browner@ucla.edu

Roy G. D'Andrade, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology, Emeritus, Department of Anthropology,
University of California, San Diego.
Rdandrade@ucsd.edu

Robert B. Edgerton, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, and Department of Anthropology, UCLA.
Roberte@npih.medsch.ucla.edu

Alan Paige Fiske, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Anthropology, UCLA
Founding Director, Center for Behaviour, Evolution, and Culture, UCLA;
Founding Co-Organizer, Social cognitive Neuroscience Conference, 2001.
Afiske@ucla.edu

Linda C. Garro, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Anthropology, UCLA, and
Adjunct Professor, Department of Community Health Sciences,
Faculty of Medicine, University of Manitoba.
Lgarro@anthro.ucla.edu

Mary-Jo DelVecchio Good, Ph.D.
Professor of Social Medicine, Department of Social Medicine, Harvard Medical School and Department of Sociology, Faculty of Arts and Sciences, Harvard University.
Maryjo_good@hms.harvard.edu

Patricia M. Greenfield, Ph.D.
Professor of Psychology,
Former chair, Developmental Psychology Area, UCLA.
Greenfield@psych.ucla.edu

Peter J. Guarnaccia, Ph.D.
Chair and Professor, Department of Human Ecology, Cook College, Rutgers University;
Research Faculty, Institute for Health, Health Care Policy and Aging Research, Rutgers University.
Guarnaccia@aesop.rutgers.edu

Douglas Hollan, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Anthropology, UCLA;
Senior Instructor, Southern California Psychoanalytic Institute;
Editor of Book Series, Society for Psychological Anthropology;
Member of the FPR Board of Directors and the Advisory Board.
dhollan@anthro.ucla.edu

Allen W. Johnson, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology and Psychiatry, Emeritus, Department of Anthropology, UCLA.
Ajohnson@ucla.edu

Marjorie Kagawa-Singer, Ph.D., M.N., R.N.
Associate Professor, School of Public Health and Asian American Studies, UCLA;
Member of the FPR Advisory Board.
mkagawa@ucla.edu

Marvin Karno, M.D.
Professor Emeritus, UCLA Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences
Member of the FPR Board of Directors and the Advisory Board.
AMKarno@AOL.com

J. David Kinzie, M.D.
Professor of PsychiatryDepartment of Psychiatry,
Director, PTSD Clinic,
Oregon Health Sciences University.
kinziej@ ohsu.edu

Laurence J. Kirmayer, M.D.
Professor & Director, Division of Social & Transcultural Psychiatry, McGill University;
Editor-in-Chief, Transcultural Psychiatry;
Director, Culture & Mental Health Research Unit, Institute of Community & Family Psychiatry;
Sir Mortimer B Davis - Jewish General Hospital, Montreal, Quebec, Canada.
Laurence.kirmayer@mcgill.ca

Robert B. Lemelson, Ph.D.
Visiting Assistant Professor, Department of Psychology, UCLA,
President, the Foundation for Psychocultural Research.
Roblem1@aol.com

Keh-Ming Lin, M.D., M.P.H.
Professor of Psychiatry, UCLA;
Director, NIMH/Harbor-UCLA Research Center on the Psychobiology of Ethnicity.
linkeh@ucla.edu

Steve R. Lopez, Ph.D.
Professor, Department of Psychology and Psychiatry, UCLA;
Member of the FPR Board of Directors and the Advisory Board.
Lopez@psych.ucla.edu

Mario G. Maldonado, M.D., M.Sc.,D.E.S.S.
Henry R. Luce Professor in Brain, Mind, and Medicine: Cross-Cultural Perspectives,
Pitzer, Claremont McKenna and Harvey Mudd Colleges.
Mg-maldonado@iname.com

Caitlin Mullin, M.F.T.
Private practice as psychotherapist in Los Angeles;
Southern California Society for Clinical Hypnosis, Lecturer at continuing education workshops for clinicians;
Assistant Professor at the Institute for the Advanced Study of Human Sexuality, San Francisco.
Carunacait@aol.com

Deena Newman, Ph.D.
Research Fellow at University College London;
Lecturer of Anthropology, Institute of European Studies, London, UK.
d.newman@ucl.ac.uk

Beate Ritz, M.D., Ph.D.
Associate Professor, Department of Epidemiology, Center for Occupational and Environmental Health, School of Public Health, UCLA;
Member of the FPR Board of Directors and the Advisory Board.
britz@ucla.edu

The Late Arthur J. Rubel, Ph.D.
Research Professor of Family Medicine and Research Professor of Anthropology, Dept. of Family Medicine and Dept. of Anthropology,University of California at Irvine

Allan N. Schore, Ph.D.
Assistant Clinical Professor, Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, School of Medicine, UCLA;
Teaching faculty, Institute for Contemporary Psychoanalysis and Southern California Psychoanalytic Institute, Los Angeles;
Advisory Board, Early Childhood Center, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Infant Mental Health Specialist Training Program.
Anschore@aol.com

John H. Schumann, Ph.D.
Professor and Chair, Department of Applied Linguistics, UCLA.
Schumann@humnet.ucla.edu

Daniel J. Siegel, M.D.
Associate Clinical Professor of Psychiatry at the UCLA School of Medicine;
Director of the Center for Human Development.
Danieljs@ucla.edu

Charles Stewart, Ph.D.
Reader in Anthropology, Department of Anthropology,
University College London (UCL).
c.stewart@ucl.ac.uk

Allan J. Tobin, Ph.D.
Former Director, UCLA Brain Research Institute
Former Eleanor Leslie Chair in Neuroscience
Professor of Neurology, Emeritus
Professor of Physiological Science, Emeritus
Scientific Director, Hereditary Disease Foundation.
allan.tobin@highqfoundation.org

Tom Weisner, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology,Departments of Psychiatry Anthropology,UCLA;
MacArthur Research Network on Successful Pathways in Middle Childhood;
Senior Program Associate, W. T. Grant Foundation.
Tweisner@ucla.edu

Peter C. Whybrow, M.D.
Judson Braun Professor and Executive Chair,
Department of Psychiatry and Biobehavioral Sciences, UCLA;
Director, Neuropsychiatric Institute, UCLA;
Physician-In-Chief, Neuropsychiatric Hospital, UCLA.
Pwhybrow@mednet.ucla.edu

Jim Wilce, Ph.D.
Professor of Anthropology,
Northern Arizona University.
jim.wilce@nau.edu


About The FPRPrograms & FundingEventsContact FPR